2017 Current Points Standings

- Big Dog Shootout

- Outlaw Door Slammers

- 6.00 Index

- 7.49 Index

- Top ET

- Footbrake

- Jr. Dragster

The often imitated never duplicated Big Dog Shootout, historic Piedmont Dragway’s very own series, has provided us with many of drag racing’s stars of today. From just an idea all those seasons ago, we have been witness to historic speeds and et’s at every event. The May edition was no exception except with first time winner. Tim Lawrence, and family, have made the trip down from West Virginia to support, first the Renegade series, now the Original Big Dog series, for many of those seasons. He has won races in the previous series and even a points title, but the porcelain “puppy” has eluded his efforts during the 2016 season and April of this year. A chance meeting with Virgina’s Dane Wood helped to cure consistency issues and led to Lawrence’s beautiful 2013 Rick Jones built Camaro being one of the cars to beat this season.

Qualifying was led by the Lawrence Camaro but a fraction behind was Brian Schrader. A 4.082 was just enough to qualify ahead of Brian Schrader’s 4.086. Then came John Lassiter at 4.108 and fourth was Jason Harris at 4.121. Five through eight were Bubba Turner, Larry Pearce, Cam Clark, and Ronnie Gardner. Scott Lang and Brett Nesbitt did not make the final cut. New car gremlins bit Nesbitt still trying to get his RJ Camaro to respond to his powerplant.

First round winners were Turner, Lassiter, Clark and Lawrence. Round two had Lawrence using a 4.07 to defeat Bubba Turner. Then Lassiter used a 4.07 to defeat Cam Clark, also in a new car, that slowed to a 5.81. The final was the closest and best race of the day with Tim Lawrence running a 4.060, with a .006 light to defeat John’s 4.086 with a .020 light. In a class movement Lassiter, and partner Jeff Miller were the first to congratulate Tim. Lawrence wanted to acknowledge all the help from his family, wife Tracey, Dad Jake, nephews Josh and Richard. Congratulations came quick as a call came in from engine guru, Billy Albert, and car builder, Rick Jones, from RJ Race Cars. Tim’s 4.84 bore space, 706 motor was flawless, as was the RJ Camaro, with chassis tuning from Dane Wood.

Other winners included Tanner Banks in 6.00, Kyle Shipmon in 7.49, and Outlaw DoorSlammer was won by Jay, in a Mustang from Durham. Jay’s last name will be acknowledged next month.

Also on hand, were five of the Nostalgia Pro Stock cars from the group headed by Jeff Rudisell. The replica cars of Joe Lapone, Darrell Alderman, Jerry Eckman, and Terry Adams. This was a preliminary event to promote the second annual Don Carlton Memorial event to be held at Wilkesboro Dragway later in May.

Coming next month will be the Classic Gear Jammers with a huge reunion celebration of Piedmont’s 60 years of continuous operation. Plans are in the works so stay tuned to the Piedmont website and Facebook page. See you there.